Dallas Loughridge earns Centre of Excellence scholarship

Victorian rising star Dallas Loughridge has earned a scholarship to the Basketball Australia Centre of Excellence in Canberra.

The Warragul/Dandenong star has been selected to move to Canberra’s Australian Institute of Sport to be part of program which has helped shaped the likes of Liz Cambage, Penny Taylor and Matthew Dellevadova amongst others over the years.

Loughridge starred for Victoria Country at the recently held Australian Under-18 Junior Championships in Wyndham and has impressed in the early stages of the NBL1 South season with Dandenong.

The allure of working on her game in an elite environment, where she can focus on her basketball, made the scholarship highly coveted for Loughridge.

“I’m really excited about having this opportunity to further my game at the COE, and being in a professional environment every day is something I’m really looking forward to,” Loughridge said. “One of the main reasons I’m excited to go to the COE is that I won’t have to travel the amount of hours in the car for games and training that I do now and I will be able to spend that time working on my game.
“Being able to train and recover in the professional environment and train against some of the best girls in Australia everyday is something I am looking forward to.”

Loughridge has been part of four consecutive Victoria Country teams – including the cancelled 2020 Under-18 AJCs in Ballarat – and was thankful to everyone who made her time in the High Performance pathway so enjoyable.

“I’ve really enjoyed my time being a part of the Country Vic family, playing for Vic Country is something special,” Loughridge said. “I’m really proud to represent not only my state but Country Vic, and have made some lifelong friends along the way.”
“My goal for the next few years is to continue to work as hard as I can to be the best I can be and hopefully that will take me to college, the WNBL and Australian teams.”

Loughridge joins fellow Victorian Charlise Dunn, Emily Sewell, Olivia Pollerd, Nyadiew Puoch and Jade Melbourne as Women’s scholarship holders at the Centre of Excellence.

other headlines:
Featured News
Featured News
General News
Featured News
Featured News
Featured News