Victorians selected for Australian U16 Squad

FOLLOWING an initial camp at the AIS in Canberra earlier this year, the squads for the FIBA Asia Under-16 Men’s and Women’s Cup have been announced.

The two 17-person squads (narrowed down from the 44 boys and girls who participated in the May camp) will now take part in a selection camp from September 4-6. From there, the final teams will be determined.

A number of Victorian Under-18 and Under-16 stars have been selected for the Australian Under-16 Men’s and Women’s Asia Cup squads.

Both squads have a lot of experience playing at the international level.

Victorians Dyson Daniels, Marcus Windhager, Harry Johnson and Joshua Duach represented Australia’s gold medal winning side at the 2018 FIBA Under-15 Oceania Championships while Luisa Fakalata, Paige Price, Charlise and, Piper Dunlop were all part of Australian Women’s gold medal triumph in Port Moresby.

Joshua Duach, Charlise Dunn, Luisa Fakalata and Paige Price were all standouts at the Oceania Championships, as they made the tournament All-Star Five.

Last year, the Under-16 boys team also had tremendous success at the FIBA Asia Cup. In Australia’s first ever run at the tournament they took home the gold medal in a dominant display against hosts China.

Similarly, the Under-16 girls team will also be coming into the women’s Asia Cup as the defending champions. In 2017, Australia narrowly defeated Japan in a thrilling final to win the gold, and like the boys in 2018, this was their first time participating in the tournament.

FIBA Asia U16 Men’s Cup Squad

Name State
Dyson Daniels VIC
Marcus Windhager VIC
Tyrese Proctor NSW
Sejr Deans TAS
Keanu Rassmussen SA
Harry Johnson VIC
Riley Smelt SA
Joshua Duach VIC
Fiston Ipassou SA
Alex Toohey ACT
Lloyd McVeigh QLD
Harrison Pennisi QLD
Michael Walker NSW
Fletcher MacDonald NSW
Jeffrey Ofoedu VIC
Jack McWilliams NSW
Bowyn Beatty ACT

FIBA Asia U16 Women’s Cup Squad

Name State
Shaneice Swain QLD
Katie Deeble QLD
Luisa Fakalata VIC
Paige Price VIC
Millie Prior NSW
Charlise Dunn VIC
Indiah Bowyer QLD
Zoe Crawford TAS
Piper Dunlop VIC
Chyra Evans NSW
Alana Goodchild NSW
Dallas Loughridge VIC
Isobel Borlase SA
Nyadiew Puoch VIC
Lauren Wise TAS
Jess Simmons SA
Chailee Ward QLD
other headlines:
Featured News
General News
Featured News
Featured News
club championships
Featured News
Featured News