MUVJBL grand finals to BVC Jamboree

SOME people will just do the kilometres necessary to get the job done.

From Melbourne Utd. Victorian Junior Basketball League (MUVJBL) Victorian Championship and VC Reserve grand finals, a select group of the state’s elite juniors made the trip up to Echuca for the Basketball Victoria Country (BVC) Jamboree.

It’s a proving ground for the country Victoria’s best and brightest under-12 juniors – with 120 boys and 120 girls selected from around the state to participate in the first destination on the BVC high performance pathway.

So they packed up the car Friday afternoon, headed in to Dandenong Basketball Stadium for their title clashes.

But that was just stage one – they still had the 300km journey up to Echuca to complete that night.

The kids had to be up in Echuca and ready for Saturday’s start to the Jamboree.

There were six from Latrobe Energy who surged to claim the under-12 VC Reserve title in a thrilling 36-31 triumph over Diamond Valley and three that featured in the VC girls grand final between Knox and Melbourne Tigers, claimed 44-28 by the Tigers.

Isabella Cocksedge (Korumburra), Tiffany Gieschen (Maffra), Olivia Fourlze (Morwell), Summer Charles (Traralgon), Taylah Murtagh (Traralgon) and Holly Morris (Traralgon) claimed the Energy’s VC Reserve title in emphatic fashion.

On the main court the action between Knox and Melbourne Tigers had three Jamboree participants in Hayley Letts (Pakenham/Knox), Olivia Rissinich (Melton/Melbourne) and Mackenzie Reddrop (Melbourne).

They had their celebrations before heading off for the Jamboree and the amazing basketball opportunity that awaited.

But that’s just another day for our country stars – they’ll hit the road at a moment’s notice for the best chance.


Isabella Cocksedge – Korumburra Basketball Association / Latrobe

Tiffany Gieschen – Maffra Basketball Association / Latrobe

Olivia Fourlze – Morwell Basketball Association / Latrobe

Summer Charles – Traralgon Basketball Association / Latrobe

Taylah Murtagh – Traralgon Basketball Association / Latrobe

Holly Morris – Traralgon Basketball Association / Latrobe


Hayley Letts – Pakenham Basketball Association / Knox


Olivia Rissinich – Melton Basketball Association / Melbourne

Mackenzie Reddrop – Melbourne Tigers

other headlines:
Featured News
Featured News
Featured News
Featured News
southside flyers
Featured News
Featured News